The Penalty whistled in favor of Portugal it’s a “gift” offered by the match referee to Cristiano Ronaldolamented the Ghana coach otto addo in a press conference, this Thursday, after the defeat of his team 3-2 in the World Cup 2022.
“When someone scores in five World Cups we can only congratulate them, but it was really a gift,” Otto Addo estimated about the penalty that led to the Cristiano Ronaldo’s first goal in Qatar-2022, after having scored in the 2006, 2010, 2014 and 2018 World Cups. Something never before achieved by a soccer player.
Cristiano Ronaldo, ‘proud’ for record goals in five World Cups
“It was not a penalty. It was a wrong decision. I don’t know why the VAR didn’t intervene. It’s unbelievable, maybe they were sleeping”, added the Ghana coach.
At minute 62, Cristiano went to the ground inside the area and the American referee Ismail Elfath did not hesitate when pointing to the penalty spot. Three minutes later the 37-year-old Portuguese converted the occasion to open the scoring.
Calendar, fixture and schedules of the World Cup in Qatar 2022
“I don’t know what the VAR was looking at, but if they see the action again, we play the ball, it was even a foul against us”, added Addo. (D)