He Father’s Day It’s kept inside Ecuador every third Sunday of June. This year, the date of tribute to the father figures is the Sunday June 18.

While most countries in the world have embraced the same holiday, mandated by US President Lyndon B. Johnson in 1966, other countries celebrate according to their own traditions.

It’s the case of Thailandwho does not celebrate in June but on 5th of December, in honor of the birthday of King Bhumibol Adulyadej, considered the father of the nation. Adulyadej has one of the longest reigns in history as he was the monarch from 1946 until his death in 2016. In the Asian country, this is one of the most important days of the year.

Tribute to the late King of Thailand, Bhumibol Adulyadej.

In GermanyFather’s Day is called Vatertag and is celebrated the day of Jesus’ ascension, forty days after Easter Sunday. Unlike other regions, where the party has a more family feel, in Germany parties or excursions are organized with food and beer.

Spain, Portugal, Italy, Andorra, Swiss, Liechtenstein And Croatia pay tribute to the parents each March 19because according to Catholic tradition, that is the day of Saint Joseph, the father of Jesus.

In TaiwanFather’s Day is celebrated on August the 8th, the eighth day of the eighth month of the year. In Mandarin, the pronunciation of the number eight and the word ‘August’ is very similar to the word ‘father’. For this reason, the population began to honor their parents on this day.

in the meantime Russiathe holiday coincides with Defenders of the Fatherland Day and also with Men’s Day, the February 23. This day is not a working day and the military are also honored.

Defender of the Fatherland Day parade in Russia. Photo: Latin Press.

Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden celebrate father’s day second Sunday in November every year.

In Dominican Republic there is a slight variation on the US model as the last Sunday of June. Instead of Brazil he celebrates second Sunday in August.

In OceaniaFather’s Day is celebrated on first Sunday of Sept. Among those states are Australia, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea and the Fiji Islands.

The countries that celebrate the third Sunday in June are: Afghanistan, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Bermuda Islands, Bulgaria, Burma, Canada, Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Ethiopia, France, Ghana, Greece, Guyana, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Ireland, Japan, Malaysia, Jordan, Lebanon, Mauritius, Mexico, Netherlands, Nigeria, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Puerto Rico, Saint Lucia , Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Singapore, Slovakia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Venezuela and Zimbabwe.