6 C
New York
Sunday, January 29, 2023

Latest Posts

Rui Costa wins the Claviá Trophy of the Mallorca Challenge

Euskaraz irakurri: Rui Costak irabazi du Mallorcako Challengeko Calvia Saria

Rui Costa (Intermarché-Circus-Wanty) claimed victory in the Calviá Trophythe first trophy of the 31st Mallorca Challengewhich was held on January 25 starting and ending in Palmanova (150.1 km).

In his first race with the Intermarché team, Costa sprinted past Louis Vervaeke (Soudal-Quick Step) and Ben Healy (EF Education-Easypost). The Euskaltel-Euskadi cyclist, Carlos Canal, was sixth three seconds behind the winner of the test. The French Julian Alaphilippe (Soudal-Quick Step) finished ninthnine seconds behind Rui Costa.

The first escape attempt was made by four cyclists at kilometer 9: Bean Healy, Pascal Eenkhoorn (Lotto-Dstny), Mirco Maestri (Eolo-Kometa Cycling Team) and George Zimmer (Intermarché-Circus-Wanty). They came to have a 40-second advantage over the rest of the peloton. Over the next kilometres, Eekhoorn and Healy maintained a 56 second lead over the chasing pack made up of, among others, Alaphilippe and Carlos Canal.

In the end, the Calviá Trophy was decided to sprint and Rui Costa raised his arms at the finish line to celebrate a victory he had already won in the Challenge Mallorca in 2010.


1 – COSTA Rui (Intermarché) 3:59:34

2 – VERVAEKE Louis (Soudal) mt

3 – HEALY Ben (EF Education) + 1″

4 – PEDERSEN Casper (Soudal) + 3″

5 – ZINGLE Axel (Cofidis) mt

6 – CANAL Carlos (Euskaltel) mt

7 – GOOSSENS Kobe (Intermarché) mt

8 – ZWIEHOFF Ben (BORA) mt

9 – ALAPHILIPPE Julian (Soudal) + 9″

10 – BAGIOLI Andrea (Soudal) mt

Source: Eitb


Latest Posts

Don't Miss

Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.