12.6 C
New York
Thursday, September 29, 2022

Latest Posts

More than US $ 15 million for the winners of the Oscar of science 2023

- Advertisement -

The winning researchers of the 2023 edition of the Breakthrough Prize, known as the Oscar of science, announced this Thursday, will share a total of more than US $ 15 million, the largest endowment for a scientific prize, ahead of the Nobel.

- Advertisement -

This US award was launched by Silicon Valley entrepreneurs in the early 2010s to reward breakthroughs in key research.

For this 2023, three prizes were awarded in the life sciences category, one in fundamental physics and another in mathematics. Each prize consists of three million dollars (compared to less than one million for a Nobel).

“Today’s laureates embody the incredible power of basic science, both to reveal profound truths about the Universe and to improve our lives,” entrepreneur Yuri Milner, an early investor in this award, said in a press release. summoned by figures such as Mark Zuckerberg, founder of Facebook and current director of Meta.

- Advertisement -

Among the winners are the French Emmanuel Mignot, a professor at Stanford University (United States), and the Japanese Masashi Yanagisawa.

Both share an award in the life sciences category for having discovered the cause of narcolepsy, a disease that causes people who suffer from it to fall asleep suddenly in the middle of the day. Thanks to their discovery, promising drugs are now being developed.

Another prize in life sciences went to Demis Hassabis and John Jumper, founder and researcher respectively of DeepMind, a Google subsidiary specializing in artificial intelligence.

The two British scientists have developed a “deep learning” system that can predict the structure of millions of proteins, a breakthrough that should lead to a better understanding of cellular processes.

The third award in that category went to Clifford Brangwynne and Anthony Hyman, for discovering a new mechanism of cell organization.

The fundamental physics prize was awarded to four quantum information pioneers: Charles Bennett, Gilles Brassard, David Deutsch and Peter Shor.

Daniel Spielman, a professor at Yale University in the United States, also received the prize for mathematics.

In addition to the top prizes, six prizes worth $100,000 each were presented to 11 young scientists who “have made a substantial impact in their field,” according to the statement.

Source: Gestion

- Advertisement -

Latest Posts

Don't Miss

Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.