25.4 C
New York
Sunday, August 14, 2022

Latest Posts

Completed the ban on atomic tests in Latin America and the Caribbean

- Advertisement -

With the ratification by Dominica, the entire region of Latin America and the Caribbean has already joined the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty, the CTBTO, the UN body that manages and promotes that agreement, reported in Vienna.

- Advertisement -

According to that organization, with the accession on the 30th of the small Caribbean island, there are already 173 countries around the world, of the 193 members of the United Nations, that have already ratified the agreement, including 33 from Latin America and the Caribbean. .

This ratification “demonstrates the region’s exemplary leadership in nuclear non-proliferation and disarmament,” Robert Floyd, executive secretary of the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO), said in a statement.

Latin America and the Caribbean became the first nuclear-weapon-free zone in the world with the signing of the Treaty of Tlatelolco, in Mexico on February 14, 1967, which entered into force two years later.

- Advertisement -

That agreement prohibited the testing, manufacture, production, storage or acquisition of nuclear weapons in the entire region, and guarantees the use of atomic energy exclusively for peaceful purposes.

To enter into force, the CTBTO still needs to be ratified by eight states.

China, Israel or the United States, which have nuclear weapons, have signed but not ratified it.

Nor have Egypt or Iran ratified it, and three other countries with nuclear arsenals, North Korea, India and Pakistan, have not even signed it.

Source: Gestion

- Advertisement -

Latest Posts

Don't Miss

Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.