Categories: Sports

O’Connor wins the third stage of the UAE Tour and Jay Vine becomes the new leader

O’Connor wins the third stage of the UAE Tour and Jay Vine becomes the new leader

O’Connor wins the third stage of the UAE Tour and Jay Vine becomes the new leader

Euskaraz irakurri: O ‘Connorrek irabazi du UAE Tourreko hirugarren stage eta Jay Vine da leader berria

The Australian Ben O’Connor has been imposed on Jebel Jais after covering the 176 kilometers of the test in 4 hours, 6 minutes and 21 seconds. The cyclist Decathlon Ag2 has undertaken its attack 1,100 meters from the summit of Jebel Jais and no one has been able to keep up with him. The Australian crossed the finish line alone and it was the ninth victory in his professional record. Brandon McNulty has lost the lead, but his teammate, Jay Vineis the one who has placed himself in first position with 11 seconds over O’Connor and 13 over the previous leader.

The British Mark Stewart and the swiss Silvan Dillier They began leading the stage alone, but the wind caused fans that sent the peloton flying. In the end, J.onas Rickaertand again Mark Stewart They have taken the initiative with another escape in which the Briton has been able to achieve a margin of 3 minutes with 35 km to go.

At the time of climbing Jebel Jaiswith no less than 19 km at 5.6 percent, UAE He has become the owner of the first three places in the general classification. But, just as he did in 2023, Movistar has made a move with the attack of Einer Rubio 12 kilometers from the finish line. The crash was controlled by the cyclists of UAEwho was losing at that time to Adam Yatesinjured in the fall.

In the end, the Czech tried Jan Hirtwithout success, and when it seemed that McNulty I was going to maintain the lead, O’Connor He has launched his attack just over 1 km from the summit. The cyclist of the decathlon has escaped from the rest and has taken the victory of the third stage of the UAE Tour.

This Thursday the fourth stage takes place between Dubai Police Officer’s Club and Dubai Harbor175 km.


1 – O’CONNOR Ben (Decathlon AG2R) 4:16:21

2 – VINE Jay (UAE) + 0:05

3 – VAN EETVELT Lennert (Lotto Dstny) mt

4 – POOLE Max (Team dsm) mt

5 – VAN WILDER Ilan (Soudal) mt

6 – VALTER Attila (Team Visma) mt

7 – RICCITELLO Matthew (Israel) mt

8 – BILBAO Pello (Bahrain) mt

9 – RUBIO Einer (Movistar Team) mt

10 – CARR Simon (EF Education) mt

General ranking:

1 – VINE Jay (UAE) 7:39:44

2 – O’CONNOR Ben (Decathlon AG2R) + 0:11

3 – MCNULTY Brandon (UAE) + 0:13

4 – VAN WILDER Ilan (Soudal) + 0:21

5 – BILBAO Pello (Bahrain) + 0:22

6 – POOLE Max (Team dsm) + 0:31

7 – FOSS Tobias (INEOS) + 0:33

8 – CARR Simon (EF Education) + 0:36

9 – BJERG Mikkel (UAE) + 0:37

10 – VALTER Attila (Team Visma) + 0:39

Source: Eitb