news agency
Buitrago wins the 19th stage of the Giro and Roglic cuts three seconds behind the leader Thomas

Buitrago wins the 19th stage of the Giro and Roglic cuts three seconds behind the leader Thomas

Buitrago wins the 19th stage of the Giro and Roglic cuts three seconds behind the leader Thomas

Euskaraz irakurri: Buitrago nagusitu da Giroko 19. stage, eta Roglicek hiru second jan dizkio Thomas leader

Santiago Buitrago (Bahrain Victorious) won the 19th stage of the Giro d’Italia, which took place this Friday, May 26, between Longarone and Tre Cime Di Lavaredo. Geraint Thomas (Ineos Grenadiers) continues with the pink jerseyalthough Primoz Roglic (Jumbo Visma) reduced his gap to the leader by three seconds.

The cyclists faced a 183 kilometer journey in which they were five mountain passes; three of the first category and two of the second.

From the beginning there were escape attempts, but the escape was formed after exceeding the initial 63 kilometers. There were 15 cyclists who were at the head of the race: Alex Baudin, Nicolas Prodhomme, Larry Warbasse (AG2R Citroen), Vadim Pronsky (Astana Qazaqstan), Patrick Conrad (Bora Hansgrohe), Davide Gabburo (Green Project-Bardiani CSF-Faizanè), Derek Gee (Israel Premier Tech), Veljko Stojnic (Corratec-Selle Italia), Magnus Cort Nielsen (EF Education EasyPost), Santiago Buitrago (Bahrain Victorious), michael hepburn (Jayco AlUla) and Stefano Oldani (Alpecin-Deceuninck). later they joined Mattia Bais (Eolo-Kometa), Carlos Verona and Jose Joaquin Rojas (Movistar).

The front group overcame Passo Campolongo (2nd category) with a five-minute advantage, and later Passo Valparola 1st category) with more income, about 8 minutes. However, at Passo Giau (1st category), the breakaway arrived 7 minutes early, looking like it was going to be victorious. On the ramps of the colossus there was natural selection. Five men remained in front and were later joined by Magnus Cort, Buitrago, Hepburn and Gee. The peloton was rolling quietly, 6 minutes and 48 seconds behind.

After the descent came the ascent to Passo Tre Croci (2nd category). There were 11 runners who faced the climb at the head of the race. The port made its own selection and no one could keep up with Buitrago, Cort, Gee and Hepburn. No one in the squad moved.

Finally came the Tre Cime Di Lavaredo, special category. At 7 kilometers from the finish line, Derek Gee attacked. Buitrago let the Canadian do it, but without losing eye contact. With 1.3 kilometers to go, the Colombian caught up with the Canadian and, furthermore, continued forward alone. In this way, the victory did not escape Buitrago. Gee was second, for the fifth time in this edition of the Giro, after crossing the finish line 51 seconds behind the winner.

In the group of favourites, it was Joao Almeda (UAE Emirates) who attacked first, but Thomas and Roglic responded. The first three of the classification left and the fight was served. One kilometer from the finish line, Thomas attacked, taking Roglic off the wheel, but the Slovenian reacted in the final meters and entered the finish line three seconds ahead of Thomas. Just before the Slovenian crossed the finish line, Cort Nielsen was one minute and 46 seconds behind the winner. Roglic was fourth and could not add any bonuses. Thomas was fifth. Instead, Almeida entered 23 seconds behind the Slovenian and 20 behind the leader.

Therefore, Geraint Thomas will lead the time trial of the 20th stage with a 26-second advantage over Roglic who is second. Almeida is third, 59 seconds behind the leader. The Portuguese will face the last week with 3 minutes and 11 seconds of rent over the fourth classified Damiano Caruso (Bahrain Victorious).

Classification of the 19th stage

1 – BUITRAGO Santiago (Bahrain) 5:28:07

2 – TEE Derek (Israel) +0:51

3 – CUT Magnus (EF) +1:46

4 – ROGLIC Primož (Jumbo) mt

5 – THOMAS Geraint (INEOS) +1:49

6 – ALMEIDA João (UAE) +2:09

7 – CARUSO Damiano (Bahrain) mt

8 – ARENSMAN Thymen (INEOS) mt

9 – PINOT Thibaut (Groupama) +2:16

10 – BLONDE Einer Augusto (Movistar) +2:26

General ranking

1 – THOMAS Geraint (INEOS) 81:55:47

2 – ROGLIC Primoz (Jumbo) +0:26

3 – ALMEIDA João (UAE) +0:59

4 – CARUSO Damiano (Bahrain) +4:11

5 – DUNBAR Eddie (Jayco) +4:53

6 – PINOT Thibaut (Groupama) +5:10

7 – ARENSMAN Thymen (INEOS) +5:13

8 – KÄMNA Lennard (BORA) +5:54

9 – LEKNESSUND Andreas (DSM) +6:08

10 – DE PLUS Laurens (INEOS) +7:30

Source: Eitb

You may also like

Hot News



follow us