25.4 C
New York
Sunday, August 14, 2022

Latest Posts

Van Aert flies in Calais and reinforces the yellow

- Advertisement -

Euskaraz irakurri: Van Aertek hegan egin du Calaisen eta elastiko horia sendotu du

the belgian cyclist Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) won this Tuesday on the fourth day of the Tour de France, disputed between Dunkirk and Calais over 171.5 kilometers, and after three second places in this start of the French round that he leads, he finally achieved his stage victory , starting at the last level.

- Advertisement -

The Jumbo-Visma broke the stage on the Cote du Cap Blanc-Nezfrom 900 meters to almost 8 percent of average slope and about 11 kilometers from the finish line, with a block attack that could hardly be followed by some INEOS Grenadiers like Adam Yachts.

But Van AertAs soon as he reached the top and after doing the last meters of the ascent to the maximum, he went alone, leaving behind a group broken into a thousand pieces. The platoon was largely recomposed, but they no longer hunted down a Van Aert which reinforces his yellow jersey as leader of this Tour where he has garnered three second places and one victory in the four stages held.

Philipsen raises his arms

- Advertisement -

Apart from Van Aert, there were three other protagonists during the 4th stage. On the one hand, the fugitives Magnus Cort Nielsen (EF) and Anthony Perez (Cofidis), who were prominent in the lead for a large part of the route, and on the other hand, Jasper Phillipsen (Alpecin Fenix), who prevailed in the peloton sprint and raised his arms as if he were the winner of the day.

Cobblestones await cyclists

This Wednesday comes one of the most anticipated stages of this edition. The cobblestones will be the protagonists of the fifth stage that will take place between Lille and Arenberg, where 11 cobblestone sections totaling 20 kilometers await. A day in which anything can happen, worthy of the utmost respect, perhaps the first sieve in the general classification.


1 – VAN AERT Wout (Jumbo-Visma 4:01:36

2 – PHILIPSEN Jasper (Alpecin-Deceuninck) +0:08

3 – LAPORTE Christophe (Jumbo-Visma) mt

4 – KRISTOFF Alexander (Intermarché) mt

5 – SAGAN Peter (TotalEnergies) mt

6 – MOZZATO Luca (B&B Hotels) mt

7 – VAN POPPEL Danny (BORA) mt

8 – HOFSTETTER Hugo (Arkea) mt

9 – MATTHEWS Michael (BikeExchange) mt

10 – THOMAS Benjamin (Cofidis) mt

Source: Eitb

- Advertisement -

Latest Posts

Don't Miss

Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.