news agency
Spring Novel Award is won by the Spaniard Vicente Vallés for his novel ‘Operación Kazán’

Spring Novel Award is won by the Spaniard Vicente Vallés for his novel ‘Operación Kazán’

Spring Novel Award is won by the Spaniard Vicente Vallés for his novel ‘Operación Kazán’

The novel Operation Kazan of the Spanish journalist Vicente Valles he won Spring Award 2022, endowed with about $114,000, according to the jury’s decision made public this Friday, which highlighted the intriguing plot of this espionage story that spans almost the entire 20th century and what we have been in the 21st century.

A poetry prize in Spain raises suspicions about whether its winner really exists

The winning novel of the XXVI edition of the Primavera Prize, convened by the Espasa publishing house and Cultural Area of ​​El Corte Inglés, It is a story “full of intrigue that, from a very original perspective, poses a fictional matter that could very well be the most absolute reality”, highlighted the jury.

The jury for the Primavera de Novela Award, chaired by Carme Riera and made up of Antonio Soler, Gervasio Posadas, Fernando Rodríguez Lafuente and Ana Rosa Semprún (secretary with vote), unanimously decided this award this Thursday at a meeting held in Madrid.

And after learning of the jury’s decision at a press conference, Vallés (Madrid, 1963) hoped that readers would be entertained, have a good time with his novel and They may learn “something I didn’t know”, because “there is a lot of real history in this fictional story”.

On Operation Kazan the journalist builds an espionage plot that crosses most of the 20th century and what we have been in the 21st century and in which the KGB, the CIA and the CNI are involved.

Its starting point is the birth in New York in 1992 of a boy for whom the Soviet intelligence services design the most audacious espionage plan ever imagined. Years later, Lavrenty Beria, the bloodthirsty chief of the Bolshevik police, will present this plan to Stalin, that he will take over the operation and turn it into a personal and extremely secret mission.

The novel runs from the Russian Revolution in 1917 to the American elections of the 21st century, going through the horrors of World War II, the Normandy landings, the Cold War, the fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989, the collapse of regimes communists in the 1990s and the current Russian interference in Western democracies.

Operation Kazanwhich will hit bookstores on March 23, follows in the footsteps of his two previous books, in such a way that it could be the third part of a trilogy, even if they are not novels, he said.

His writing has taken him longer than he thought, three years, because the pandemic meant additional journalistic work for him.

He is the author of the books Trump and the fall of the Clinton empirein which he analyzes the result of the American elections of 2016 and The Trail of the Dead Russians (2019).

The Primavera de Novela Award was created in 1997 with the aim of supporting literary creation and contributing to the maximum dissemination of the novel as a form of artistic expression of our time. In addition to the financial award to the winner, the winning work will be published exclusively by the Espasa publishing house.

A total of 1,428 originals have been submitted to this call for the award, of which 694 came from Spain, followed by Argentina and Mexico, with 223 and 110 originals, respectively. (I)

Source: Eluniverso

You may also like

Hot News



follow us

Immediate Access Pro