24.2 C
New York
Wednesday, August 10, 2022

Latest Posts

Ecuadorians Solange Rodríguez, Óscar Vela and Carlos Arcos are candidates for the 2022 Royal Spanish Academy Awards

- Advertisement -

Three Ecuadorian authors compete for the awards of the Royal Spanish Academy 2022, of literary creation, whose term of presentation of candidacies culminated the past 31 of May. Solange Rodriguez, Oscar Vela and Carlos Arcos They are three of the eleven writers who aspire to international recognition.

What books do Ecuadorian authors compete with?

- Advertisement -

Solange Rodriguez Pappe compete with your book of a strange world (Inlimbo), in which he brings together thirteen stories that go through themes such as death, love and lust. His work reminds us that the belief in myth, ritual, and the supernatural always comes to the fore at a certain moment.

In 2010 Rodríguez won the Joaquín Gallegos Lara national award for the best story book with the work Lost bullets.

‘From a rare world’ is the new story book by Solange Rodríguez.
- Advertisement -

Oscar Vela is part of the list of candidates with The Bartow Murders (Planet), a novel that gathers the history of Nelson Ivan Serrano, a former Ecuadorian businessman who was accused of a quadruple crime perpetrated on December 3, 1997 in the city of Bartow, Florida. The book describes the facts and the follow-up of the case with details of the trial (with testimonies included), images, and messages.

The novel has been commented by national and international media.

'The Bartow Murders', by Óscar Vela.

‘The Bartow Murders’, by Óscar Vela.

Carlos Arcos Cabrera competes with his historical novel any given day (Planeta), which is set in the year 1517 and tells the story of Diego and Francisco de Arcos, two brothers who belong to a family of converted Jews and who dreamed of conquering a new world for themselves. His characters are participants in evil and virtue, pain and lust, greed, guilt, power and desire.

'Any given day', by Carlos Arcos Cabrera.

‘Any given day’, by Carlos Arcos Cabrera.

The works of Ecuadorian authors compete with others from Spain, Peru, Chile and Mexico; and whose genres range from police novels, history, dystopia, to stories and tales.

the strangerby Olga Merino (Spain), a post war girlby Carmen Maria Hernandez Alonso (Spain), Paper, by Jesus Ruiz Mantilla (Spain), Sonnets of Spain / (Anti) posthuman sonnetsby Alejandro Montecinos (Chili), The city of deicidesRuben Barcelli (Peru), tiger footprintby Maica Guerrero Yabar (Peru), the fourth horsemanby Veronica Murguia (Mexico), and Bazaarby Emilio Gavilanes (Spain).

As explained by the RAE on its official website, each book is endorsed by a minimum of three permanent academics from the RAE or from any of its corresponding academies, as well as by one of the winners of previous calls.

The award is endowed with €20,000 and a commemorative medal. The award decision will be announced in October. (YO)

Source: Eluniverso

- Advertisement -

Latest Posts

Don't Miss

Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.