news agency

Las Bambas: they declare a Special Attention Area for the Chumbivilcas communities

The Presidency of the Councils of Ministers (PCM) declared the territory of the peasant communities of Sayhua, Huascabamba, Cruzpampa, Tahuay, Ccapacmarca, Cancahuani from the Ccapacmarca district; Lacca Lacca Yanque Parccobamba, Ahuichanta Huisuray, Idiopa Ñaupa Japo Urinsaya from the district of Colquemarca; Huininquiri from the Santo Tomás district; Tincurca Laccaya from the district of Chamaca; Tuntuma and Hatum Ccollana from the Velille district; and, Huaylla Huaylla of the Livitaca district, of the province of Chumbivilcas, of the department of Cusco, as “Special Attention Zone” (ZAE).

This decision is part of the agreements reached on December 30 with the Chumbivilcas communities and the Las Bambas mining company, which allows the dialogue to continue to comprehensively address the demands of the population in the field of mining corridor.

To this end, the creation of a temporary Multisectoral Working Group called the Multisectoral Working Group in charge of formulating the proposed Intervention Plan for the “ZAE – Chumbivilcas“, Which allows promoting sustainable socioeconomic development, with a territorial, intercultural and multisectoral approach in the Special Attention Area.

The Multisectoral Working Group It will be made up of the following members:

a) Representative of the PCM, who presides over it.

b) Representative of the Ministry of Energy and Mines.

c) Representative of the Ministry of the Environment.

d) Representative of the Ministry of Agrarian Development and Irrigation.

e) Representative of the Ministry of Justice and Human Rights.

f) Representative of the Ministry of Transport and Communications.

g) Representative of the Ministry of Education.

h) Representative of the Ministry of Culture.

i) Representative of the Ministry of Labor and Employment Promotion.

j) Representative of the Ministry of Development and Social Inclusion.

k) Representative of the Ministry of Production.

l) Representative of the Ministry of Health.

m) Representative of the Ministry of Housing, Construction and Sanitation.

n) Representative of the Ministry of Economy and Finance.

ñ) Representative of the Regional Government of Cusco.

o) Representative of the Provincial Municipality of Chumbivilcas.

p) Representative of the La Bambas Mining Company.

q) Representative of the United Front for the Defense of the Interests of the Province of Chumbivilcas.

r) Representative of each of the peasant communities of the Special Attention Zone.

The Workgroup It must be installed within a maximum period of 15 business days and will be valid for a period of 90 calendar days, extendable for an additional period. Once the validity period has expired, the Chair of the Working Group, with the support of the Technical Secretariat, has an additional 30 calendar days to present a final report to the PCM.

New dialogue

It is important to mention that five communities of Ccapacmarca, have ignored the agreements reached with Las Bambas, for which they have asked the premier for a new meeting to present their demands on environmental issues.

In this regard, Prime Minister Mirtha Vásquez confirmed her presence for the meeting with these communities for this Friday, January 14, at the Sayhua Community Stadium, in Cusco.

“There are communities that have expressed their desire to have a direct dialogue, because they have specific demands with an emphasis on environmental issues. It seems absolutely legitimate to us to listen to them and, as in all cases, we are going to attend ”, he added.


You may also like

Hot News



follow us

Immediate Access Pro