news agency

Congress approves appointment of its directors of the BCRP

This Thursday, the Plenary of Congress approved the appointment of Inés Choy, Diego Macera and Carlos Oliva as new directors of the Central Reserve Bank of Peru (BCRP).

With 76 votes in favor, 37 against and no abstention, he authorized the legislative proposal for Choy, Macera and Oliva to replace Rafael Rey Rey, Elmer Cuba and José Chlimper Ackerman.

In this sense, after more than a month of the ratification of Julio Velarde as the highest authority in the issuing entity, and of the oath of Roxana Barrantes, Germán Alarco and José Távara – appointed by Pedro Castillo – the BCRP board of directors already has all their members.


Diego Macera is an economist graduated from the Universidad del Pacífico who currently directs the Peruvian Institute of Economics. He is also vice president of Transparency and a media columnist.

Ines Choy She has already had experience at the BCRP, considering that she was previously the Central Operations Manager of that institution. He studied Economics at UNMSM and has a Master’s in Economics from Rice University.

Carlos Oliva He was Vice Minister of Finance and head of the Banco de la Nación during the government of Ollanta Humala. Then he held the position of Minister of Economy with Vizcarra, until September 30, 2019.


You may also like

Hot News



follow us